Iligan City is a highly urbanized city in the northern part of the province of Lanao del Norte, Philippines. It is located 795 kilometers southeast of Manila and 36 kilometers west of Cagayan de Oro City. Iligan City is also known as the "City of Majestic Waterfalls" because it is home to more than 20 waterfalls, including the famous Maria Cristina Falls.


Iligan City was originally a part of the Municipality of Iligan, which was founded in 1609. It was a small settlement until the arrival of the Americans in 1903. During the American colonial period, Iligan City became a chartered city on June 16, 1950, by virtue of Republic Act No. 525.


Iligan City is a major industrial center in Mindanao. Its economy is driven by industries such as steel, cement, and hydroelectric power generation. The National Steel Corporation, one of the largest steel mills in Southeast Asia, is located in Iligan City. The city is also home to the Agus VI Hydroelectric Plant, which supplies electricity to the entire Mindanao region.


Iligan City is a popular destination for tourists because of its natural attractions. The Maria Cristina Falls, located in Barangay Maria Cristina, is the most famous waterfall in the city. The Tinago Falls, Mimbalot Falls, and Dodiongan Falls are also popular tourist destinations. Iligan City also has a number of historical and cultural attractions, including the St. Michael's Cathedral and the Timoga Cold Spring.


Iligan City is a beautiful and prosperous city in the Philippines that is known for its majestic waterfalls and thriving industries. It is a great place to visit for those who love nature and adventure, as well as those who are interested in the history and culture of the Philippines.